Xiaowen Shang

Pianist and Harpsichordist.

Image of Xiaowen


Xiaowen Shang is a pianist, harpsichordist and versatile musician, interested in early, classical and contemporary music. She has a wide range of repertoire from Renaissance composers such as Orlando Gibbons to contemporary composers like John Cage. She has worked with renowned musicians and composers such as Dame Imogen Cooper, Adrian Brendel, Rachel Podger and Brett Dean. Xiaowen is also enthusiastic to collaborate with other musicians, composers and artists, including improvising with silent films, playing concerts with animation and premiering new works.

Xiaowen is studying with Joanna MacGregor at the Royal Academy of Music in London, entering her first year of Master’s degree at the Academy as a Bicentenary Scholar. She received her Bachelor degree with First Class of Honours, and was awarded the Edwin Samuel Dove Prize for special merit during the studentship of her Bachelor degree studies. Her recent awards include winning the First Prize of Lilian Davis Prize for Beethoven Sonatas (2022), First Prize of String and Piano Duo Prize (2022) and First Prize of the WCOM Harriet Cohen Bach Competition(piano) in the Royal Academy of Music in 2019. She is also a Young Artist of The Musician’s Company.

As an active musician performing on stage, her recent important performances include a full Bach program concert in Wigmore Hall, the Vaughan Williams’s Piano quintet at the Victoria and Albert Museum with the Whitman Ensemble and performing the harpsichord solo of the Bach Keyboard concerto in F minor with Rachel Podger as part of the “Bach the European'' series in the Royal Academy of Music in 2021. She also performed as a soloist in other venues and festivals such as St. James’s Piccadilly, Bloomsbury Festival and Dartington Festival. In addition, she has been performing in every Summer and Autumn Piano Festival of Royal Academy of Music from 2018 to 2022. In July 2022, she had her recording debut on Bach’s Goldberg Variations with the Linn Records. Xiaowen’s upcoming projects include producing another album with the Linn Records, solo recitals in Switzerland, and many chamber music concerts in the UK.

Future Events

12 January 2023 - Student Create Festival: Whitman Ensemble Reminisces

20 January 2023 - Classical Composers and Their Legacy

4 February 2023 - Solo Recital, Geneva, Switzerland.

20 February 2023 - Age UK Lunchtime Concert: Regent Hall, Schubert 'Trout' Quintet.

1 March 2023 - Lunchtime Concert: Westminster Library, Whitman Ensemble: Frank Bridge and Ralph Vaughan-Williams.

7 March 2023 - Cello and Piano Duo at Southwark Cathedral Music Recital Series.

8 March 2023 - Women Composers: Lunchtime Concert with Whitman Ensemble.

8 March 2023 - Westminster Library, Whitman Ensemble: Louise Farrenc Piano Quintet.

Past Events

13 January 2022 - Student Create Festival: The Art of Minimalism

10 February 2022 - Bicentenary Chamber Music Festival

28 March 2022 - Wigmore Hall Rachel Podger; Royal Academy of Music Baroque Soloists: Bach and the Grenner Grass


Contact Me

London, UK

Email: contact@xiaowenshang.com